Bali was beautiful. Sun and sand and some very good (but also very bad) diving. Weather is scorching in around the mid 30s and the water was 29 degrees. Terrible.
We ate some amazingly delicious food and even did a cookery course in Indonesian cuisine that was taught by a lady that was nearly toothless (other than her plate!) and couldn't have been more than 4 food tall! But it was good and we had a delicious 5 course meal!
We spent time swimming in the sea and lounging in our pool and at the beach. But a lot of our time in Bali was underwater. We spent two days diving. The first day was at a big WWII wreck and it was stunning. Coral and fish everywhere. There was even a great barracuda and an angel fish that must have been 1 metre long at least! But the water was clear and warm and it was amazing!
The second day of diving was a bit rubbish. To cut a long story short, our "qualified guide" was a nightmare! Other than littering in the sea, he committed several diving no-nos including standing on coral and feeding the fish. Essentially, we got very grumpy and spoke to the manager and got a new guide for the next one. But at least on the second dive we saw some good things like a poisonous sea snake and a crocodile fish! The guide wasn't massively better through.
Overall though, our time in Bali was fairly good! Oh, and we were given a voucher for a free weeks accommodation in a hotel chain at any of their places. So next year we are going skiing in Bavaria! But for now, next stop Australia!
No comments:
Post a Comment